Music Owns Me, by Emily White

Standard

See on Scoop.itRule 4081

“Last June, I wrote an essay for NPR’s All Songs Considered Blog called “I Never Owned Any Music To Begin With.” In it, I explained that although I am an active music fan, I don’t feel a sense of ownership of recorded music, partially because I’ve grown accustomed to getting it for free. Since that largely leaves music creators without compensation, I suggested a way to pay to keep the access to music I’m used to: a streaming service that fairly compensates the artists I love.”

MizWalidah‘s insight:

The generational divide in the music and artist compensation debate leaves us splitting hairs as oppose to cutting split ends for growth. Forgive the hair analogy, but embrace the point : 

 

“If you consume all the music you want all the time, compulsively, sweatily, you end up having a cheap relationship to themusic you do listen to. In turn, this kind of market makes for musicians who are writing with the burden of having to get your attention, instead of writing whatever they’d write if they were just following artistic impulses.”

 

See on www.billboard.com

Leave a Reply

